Disconnect.

I bet you wish we still talked like we used to.
I know I do.
Back when you weren’t better than me,
when your time wasn’t worth more,
and we always knew what each other was thinking.
I can still remember when we used to sit on the phone
when we were both at work.
I had so many things I needed to get done,
but talking to you was the only thing I ever really had to do.
We were so young back then.
Well, not “young”,
but young at heart.
Sometimes,
I still think about calling you.
But whenever I’m about to press call,
I hang up instead.
Because as much as I wish we still talked like we used to,
I know you never will.

-ZCS

7 thoughts on “Disconnect.

Leave a Reply

