On Judgement.

There used to be a girl in my homeroom class,
who always sat by the window and stared outside.
No matter the weather or the day,
all she did was focus on that same window.
She was quiet, spacey,
and a target for constant ridicule.
Teachers would yell at her to pay attention,
people would make fun of her,
but she never stopped.
Nobody knew what she was staring at,
why she was waiting,
or when she would stop.
We could only assume
what held her rapt attention.
One day,
she wasn’t at school.
The girl was always at school.
Regardless of the day–
this girl was always there.
Except, today she wasn’t.
People made jokes,
told stories about why she wasn’t there that day.
I never joined in,
but deep down,
I wondered just the same as everyone else.
After the period was over,
I waited for everyone to leave.
Slowly, I stood up
and weaved through the desks and chairs
until I reached her seat.
I put my backpack down,
turned my body like she did,
and looked out the window.
Outside, across the street,
was the girl and her family.
They were waiting on the porch
of a plain white house on the corner.
As I watched, a beaten old Cruiser
sputtered it’s way down the street
and stopped in front of her house.
I watched silently
as the driver’s door opened
and a young man in camo fatigues stepped out.
I watched silently
as the girl leapt from the porch,
sprinted down the steps,
and rushed to meet her brother’s loving embrace.
I watched silently
As their parents rushed out to meet them,
tears streaming down their faces
as they were finally reunited with their son.

 That was the day that I learned
never to judge a book by it’s cover.

-ZCS

**“White House and Tree” by Garit via Deviantart

26 thoughts on “On Judgement.

  1. That is awesome! I knew someone like that in my class last year named Leslie. They called her a space cadet among other things, unfortuentlly I participated on judging the book by it’s cover, only once I add because it’s the cool thing. This makes me feel the extent of my ignorance for not walking in her shoes which I should have done. Thank you for the heartfelt write and the lesson behind it. Wonderful.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Simple, touching and evergreen. The simplest of love stories, woven through with the harsh reality of ‘othering’. I used to be that girl, though my story didn’t have that happy ending of your protagonist. But the opening scenes of your poem resonated so strongly with me that I wonder how many more quiet people we have judged in a similar manner. This was a brilliant story to have had the joy of reading! Thank you for sharing it.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh this made me cry. So beautiful. Yes, I]don’t judge a book by the cover – the depth of the book may not be shown by the cover. or the cover is beautiful but the book content is not so.

    Oh beautiful – seriously brought a tear to my eye and touched my heart. thank you so much for this. loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

