The Man in The Elevator

We ride the elevator,
two complete strangers
trapped together in a small box,
separated by nothing but
uncomfortable silence.
Every day,
we get on at
the exact same time,
the exact same floor.
You get off at the 7th level,
and I at the 12th.
You have coffee and a briefcase,
and I the same thing.
Our briefcases are the same color
and the same style.
I’ve thought about mentioning it,
but it’s been five years now
and I still haven’t.
Your eyes stare forward
into another world,
light years away from here
when in reality–
we are separated by mere feet
instead of miles.
It feels like you are standing at the North Pole
while I have my feet firmly planted at the South.
Polar opposites,
yet similar in so many regards.
We ride the elevator together.
Two complete strangers
trapped together in a small box,
separated by nothing but
uncomfortable silence.

-ZCS

**The image: “Elevator” by Maxyme via Deviantart

7 thoughts on “The Man in The Elevator

  1. Nice to see someone cultivating his talent here! I enjoyed your poem. Take my advice and submit your work to non-profit literary journals and contests before you publish a book or even publish on a blog like wordpress. They will not accept any work that has been previously published. I found out the hard way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

