Deepest, Darkest Writer Fears

When I write,
I always turn on music.
Sometimes I go places to write,
places full of people, life,
and the hustle and bustle
that reminds me so much of home.
There’s something intimidating about the silence,
about the quiet.

When I write,
I always write on something that’s already been used.
Sometimes I tear off the corners of school papers,
receipts, old Post-It’s, even used notebook paper.
Google documents that I’ve written in previously,
that always seem to remind me of what I wrote last.
There’s something intimidating about a fresh page,
about the unfamiliar.

When I write,
I always think about you.
Memories of us can cause me to smile fondly,
while other times they cause my heart to break a little bit more.
Once in awhile, I will simply go quiet.
When I think about you, words flow on the page and it all just makes sense.
There’s something intimidating about starting over,
about my life without my muse.

-ZCS

**Image: “Old Whisper” by Alexey Demidov

11 thoughts on “Deepest, Darkest Writer Fears

  1. I personally love new paper as I have several notebooks around the house but use whatever space and scrap I can find when the moment hits. I have started toying with music before writes I always found they crept into my writes unintentionally. This ever happen to you? I wrote my chap book (just published) at your age and must say you’re talent is impressive, always pursue passions fire man..Great piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice how all the words just fell into place. Some people are so able to adopt sounds around that when it is quiet, it’s to quiet for them to concentrate. I use the television to distract my brain, but it takes a great mind not to mind the noise. A well written piece that some can relate to.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

