Thinking.

I haven’t written anything in a while.

By that, I don’t mean that I haven’t published anything in a while. If this is your first time reading my page, I have plenty of other things published on this page. However, a lot of my writing has just been sitting on my Google Drive– waiting for me to post and see the light of day. Life’s just been so hectic lately. Anyone else think so? With the school year coming to an end, it’s been difficult finding any time. But today, I carved out a solid hour to write “Thinking.” I don’t know if I’ll have enough time to edit and revise, so here it is in all it’s word jumble glory.

Thanks for reading,

Zach C. Smith

Thinking

While I write this,
I sit in a little coffee house
on the corner of 5th and Main,
writing words
full of emotion and void of thought
because nobody will ever read them anyways.

I can’t think when I write because
it moves me in the wrong direction.
Instead of adding new lines,
I find myself following the precedent set by society
by crossing out entire stanzas,
ripping out notebook pages and
getting frustrated that I can’t come up
with the right words
right this very second
to hit you somewhere you’ll feel it–
but won’t hurt or offend.
Even worse,
it might make someone realize
just how hard someone else’s life can be.
But that’s alright,
I tell myself–
I didn’t need those words anyways.
I sit in a coffee shop and
watch the people around me,
so absorbed in their work,
their food, and their conversations—
It’s comforting; knowing that nobody
may ever actually read this.
Don’t get me wrong I hope they do!
That one day I’ll walk into
some bustling hipster coffee shop
and come across someone
who looks like me but isn’t—
reading my page.
He’ll be sitting there with black framed reading glasses,
scrolling down the page and nodding to himself
with a cup of some overpriced drink–
something with a lengthy name and too much foam.
Slowly he’ll reach for his bag,
where he has an empty notebook
that he’s been meaning to write in but hasn’t–
and a black pen that he loves because of how smooth it writes.
It will lie open on the table for some time
before he finally writes a word.
He’ll write his heart out for thirty minutes,
vividly recounting a story from his past
about how he struggled with friendships
and how they never seemed to stick.
But then he’ll remember his other homework,
and that he needs to quit doing things
like reading and writing because
colleges are looking for engineers
and you can’t fix a bridge with your words.
As he pulls out a binder and returns
the notebook to the depths of his backpack
I’ll finish my drink and head for the door,
finally aware of the fate that I myself narrowly avoided.

For now,
I’ll just sit in this little coffee house
on the corner of 5th and Main
writing words
full of emotion and void of thought
because nobody will ever read them anyways.
-ZCS

19 thoughts on “Thinking.

  1. I love this line:
    “and that he needs to quit doing things like reading and writing because colleges are looking for engineers and you can’t fix a bridge with your words.”
    It’s one of the main reasons I don’t write enough either and I’m 52! My “job” needs me to focus!! Lol. Thanks for sharing this. I’m going to make time to write today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

