I Love The Way

I love the way the pen glides across paper
as I scrawl my deepest thoughts
across a crumpled notebook page.

I love the way you smile
and giggle when you smooth out the paper,
reading it over slowly in your head.

I love the way your brow creases
as you process
every simple syllable.

I love the way that your lips
seductively trace each word on the page,
revelling in every messily scribbled line.

I love the way you look at me,
and finally realize that all this time–
I’ve been writing about you.

-ZCS

**Image: “Love Winter” via Deviantart Kara Z. Kerstena

17 thoughts on “I Love The Way

  1. This reminds me of a time I wrote a love letter to my ex back when we were together. I didn’t tell him what it was, but I told him to read it. I folded it so many times that creases took him more times to read the words. He gave me an endearing look when he realized the true purpose of it. It was a beautiful moment and your poem reminded me of it. Thank you! Do you mind if I reblog this?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Loneliness Isn't Real and commented:
    hello to my lovely fallen angels! This reminds me of a time I wrote a love letter to my ex back when we were together. I didn’t tell him what it was, but I told him to read it. I folded it so many times that the creases took him a bit more time to read the words. He gave me an endearing look when he realized the true purpose of it. It was a beautiful moment and zachsmith98’s poem reminded me of it. Enjoy! (And make sure to check out some of the other wonderful content in their blog!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

