Soul Search.

Look me in the eyes and reveal your imperfections.
Don’t turn from my gaze,
but instead meet me halfway
and allow me to cast away my troubled thoughts and memories
as I free you from yours.
Feel your fears fall away feebly at your feet
and let your inhibitions wane like the moon upon solstice–
for I am solace in the waning moonlight
as your heart becomes eclipsed by darkness.
When I strike the chains from your back
and remove the coiled barbs from around your ankles and wrists,
I am not doing so in search of gratification.
Instead I am looking for someone who knows the way–
knows how to leap into the flames and return unscathed.
I have been lost and burnt before,
by the One before you–
the One who made promises left unkept
and inspired dreams left unfulfilled.
Show me how to dance among the raindrops while remaining dry–
how to soak in the sunlight,
growing like Autumn’s first fruits and the trees that supply them.
Hold onto me tightly–
anchor me to your side with a loving embrace
and hold me there with your gentle touch.
But above all,
keep me captive in your eyes.
Leave me enthralled with everything that lies beneath them.
For your eyes are the gateway to your soul,
and my heart is the key.
-ZCS

16 thoughts on “Soul Search.

Leave a Reply

